We work with Medicaid Waiver healthcare providers and with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission Transformation Waiver team to help the RHP18 counties to achieve improvement and innovation in healthcare.

In RHP18 the Anchor Team reports to the Collin County Commissioners as the County Government Anchor for all activities related to the "Medicaid Transformation Waiver Program," and to the county commissioners in Grayson and Rockwall Counties for work with their local providers. Here is some background information on the three Anchor Team members.

Claudia S. Coggin, PhD, MS, CHES

Dr Coggin joined the Anchor Team in July 2012. Claudia has both a Master's of Science and Doctorate of Philosophy from Texas Woman’s University in Community Health Education and is a Certified Health Education Specialist.  In 2012, Claudia retired as a Assistant Professor in the Department of Behavioral and Community Health and Director of the Center for Public Health Practice at the University of North Texas Health Sciences Center (UNTHSC) School of Public Health.  Claudia taught classes in the Master in Public Health and the Doctorate in Public Health programs and placed as well as supervised MPH students in their public health practice experience sites. Areas of teaching expertise are community health education promotion program planning, effective health communication, health literacy strategies in the community and the development of health education materials. 

While on the faculty at UNTHSC, Claudia served in leadership postions in state, national and international health education/health promotion professional organizations.  Her community based participatory research interests include women’s health, public health workforce development, and leadership development.   Claudia continues to serve on the Nurse Family Partnership Commuity Advisory Board and is a private consultant for health education/health promotion programs and public health activities.

des Anges Cruser, PhD, MPA

Dr. Cruser has been part of the Medicaid Transformation Waiver Anchor Team since July 2012. She was previously on the teaching and research faculty of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine and the School of Public Health at UNTHSC. In 2011, her university research team completed a two-year study of the behavioral health system for Collin County. Dr. Cruser has conducted research and developed healthcare programs with funding from multiple private, state and federal sources. She has served as a grant reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and has provided leadership training seminars in local and national venues. In 2012, des Anges established PCI ProComp Solutions, LLC. She continues to have an adjunct faculty appointment as associate professor at UNTHSC.

Dr. Cruser held a commission in the US Navy in the late 60s, serving in NATO,  She completed a doctorate degree in interdisciplinary studies in 1992, and a master of public administration in 1982. From 1975 until 1992, she served in leadership positions with the state departments of mental health and substance abuse services in Arkansas and Oklahoma, and served as a first responder to the post office disaster in Edmond, OK  in the early 80s.  She was the director of adult forensic mental health programs for the Harris County MHMR from 1992 until 1995 when she joined the office of managed care and the department of psychiatry at Texas Tech University Health Science Center. She joined the faculty at UNTHSC in 2002.

Leigh Hornsby, PhD, M.C.M.

Dr. Hornsby heads the team. Her firm, Public Information Associates (PIA), where she is a principal partner, is the contracting firm with Collin County government. Leigh is a communications specialist who provides project management services to government agencies. Her education includes a Master's of City Management from East Tennessee State University and a Doctorate of Philosophy in Public Affairs from the University of Texas at Dallas. 

Who is the Anchor Team?

Website Created & Hosted with Website.com Website Builder